Skip to content
Windsor and Maidenhead Counts — Windsor and Maidenhead, in numbers.Local help →

Windsor and Maidenhead, in numbers

People and living standards

Windsor and Maidenhead council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Windsor and Maidenhead council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 133,695 in 1991 to 159,776 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Windsor and Maidenhead council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 135,917 people in 1996; 159,776 people in 2025. 17.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Windsor and Maidenhead council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991133,695
1992133,884
1993134,043
1994134,148
1995135,474
1996135,917
1997135,036
1998132,960
1999132,917
2000133,654
2001133,541
2002133,631
2003134,201
2004135,066
2005136,446
2006138,012
2007139,743
2008141,345
2009142,424
2010143,988
2011145,098
2012146,642
2013147,525
2014148,936
2015150,043
2016152,085
2017152,648
2018153,470
2019153,893
2020153,991
2021153,922
2022155,140
2023157,220
2024158,760
2025159,776
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Windsor and Maidenhead council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 26,043 people in 1996; 29,472 people in 2025. 13.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Windsor and Maidenhead council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199125,754
199225,924
199325,995
199425,908
199526,074
199626,043
199725,721
199825,238
199925,870
200026,187
200126,475
200226,562
200326,702
200426,892
200526,980
200627,089
200727,358
200827,622
200927,907
201028,336
201128,694
201229,139
201329,287
201429,444
201529,719
201630,289
201730,240
201830,220
201930,273
202029,934
202129,620
202229,734
202329,758
202429,760
202529,472
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Windsor and Maidenhead council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 89,583 people in 1996; 99,450 people in 2025. 11% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Windsor and Maidenhead council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199188,611
199288,384
199388,299
199488,391
199589,260
199689,583
199788,952
199887,243
199986,625
200087,000
200186,514
200286,466
200386,729
200487,238
200588,336
200689,653
200790,809
200891,486
200991,675
201092,054
201192,141
201292,358
201392,425
201493,095
201593,690
201694,856
201795,132
201895,645
201995,620
202095,932
202195,792
202296,374
202397,896
202498,816
202599,450
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Windsor and Maidenhead council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,291 people in 1996; 30,854 people in 2025. 52.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Windsor and Maidenhead council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,330
199219,576
199319,749
199419,849
199520,140
199620,291
199720,363
199820,479
199920,422
200020,467
200120,552
200220,603
200320,770
200420,936
200521,130
200621,270
200721,576
200822,237
200922,842
201023,598
201124,263
201225,145
201325,813
201426,397
201526,634
201626,940
201727,276
201827,605
201928,000
202028,125
202128,510
202229,032
202329,566
202430,184
202530,854
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 153,497 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Windsor and Maidenhead · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh20,07213.1%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2,3581.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups5,2383.4%
White122,55179.8%
Other ethnic group3,2782.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 144,560 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Windsor and Maidenhead · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White124,50586.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups3,3152.3%
Asian/Asian British13,8489.6%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,7251.2%
Other ethnic group1,1670.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 133,626 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Windsor and Maidenhead · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White123,51592.4%
Mixed1,8501.4%
Asian/Asian British6,1184.6%
Black/Black British6580.5%
Chinese/Other1,4851.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 47.2% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Windsor and Maidenhead council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £17,780 per person in 1997; £38,211 per person in 2024. 114.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Windsor and Maidenhead council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199717,780
199818,391
199918,647
200019,848
200120,028
200220,288
200320,600
200420,956
200521,800
200622,648
200724,330
200824,850
200924,711
201024,569
201124,755
201225,409
201326,698
201427,504
201529,255
201629,466
201730,389
201831,047
201932,384
202031,336
202132,766
202234,298
202335,830
202438,211
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Windsor and Maidenhead council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 67.6% in 1997; 47.2% in 2024. 20.4 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Windsor and Maidenhead council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199767.6
199869.9
199964.8
200066.8
200161.9
200260.4
200358
200454.4
200555.1
200654.7
200758.6
200857.8
200954.3
201052.1
201151.9
201250.4
201352.4
201452.1
201553.8
201653
201754.2
201852.1
201953.7
202049.3
202150
202249.4
202346.5
202447.2
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

61.7%

21 March 2021 · Windsor and Maidenhead council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

11.2%

21 March 2021 · Windsor and Maidenhead council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

12.6%

21 March 2021 · Windsor and Maidenhead council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3%

21 March 2021 · Windsor and Maidenhead council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£575,000

July 2026 · Windsor and Maidenhead council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,800

August 2026 · Windsor and Maidenhead council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.